It’s just a bad slogan

The other day on the way home from work, I saw this bumper sticker on the back of someone's car:

Fur Kills

I don't really feel like delving deep into the merits and demerits of the fur industry, though I will agree that there is some pretty heinous stuff associated with the making of fur coats. My main gripe here is the use of the "Fur Kills" slogan. I just don't think it makes sense. Sure, the process of making fur coats kills. But fur doesn't kill. Guns kill, swords kill, nunchucks and bowstaffs kill, but fur doesn't kill. Don't get me wrong, I can surely imagine a scenario where fur could kill. For example, this woman below could put her coat on backwards and the hood could suffocate her while she struggles to get it off and put it on the right way. But, the last time I checked, Colonel Mustard was NOT killed by Professor Plum with the mink boa in the conservatory.

fur coat

Explore posts in the same categories: Thoughts

8 Comments on “It’s just a bad slogan”

  1. C-four Says:

    Right on, dude. Also, they implicitly support the murder and skinning of non-furry animals. No “scales kill” campaigns? Doesn’t anybody care about the alligators?

  2. Mewlsee37 Says:

    Hello,

    Just a quick word,
    You have been selected as one of The Blog Blogs Honorary Blogs
    Congratulations and enjoy your Honour.

  3. broncosrule Says:

    Wow! Hey Everyone. Yeah, you, all my fans… guess what!?! This blog has been named in the top five June 2005 blogs by another blog that selects blogs to be in monthly top five lists! Aren’t you excited? No? You don’t care? Oh, wait, it’s not that you don’t care, it’s that you don’t exist… Oh well, at least I can be excited about this C-list blogosphere honour.

  4. Usually a Fan Says:

    While arguably amusing, your most recent posting misses the mark. “FurKills” is an effective slogan because it is short, catchy, and generally understood to be a statement against the killing of animals for their fur. Whether a slogan is literally sensical has little to do with its effectiveness. Wikipedia has the following to say about slogans: “A slogan is a memorable phrase used in a political, commercial, religious, and other contexts as a repetitive expression of an idea or purpose. Often their simple rhetorical nature leaves little room for detail, and as such they serve perhaps more as a social expression of unified purpose, rather than a projection for an intended audience.”

  5. broncosrule Says:

    Dear Usually a Fan,

    First off, thank you for your intermittent support. I can’t tell you how much it means to me to know that I have an occassional fan. Second, I commend the obviously thorough research that you did in support of your recent comment. A citation to Wikipedia carries much weight in the blogging world, and you clearly have done your homework in that regard. However, it is the first part of your comment with which I take issue. You say that while my most recent posting is amusing, it misses the mark, but amusement is exactly the purpose of this blog. I make no claims to accuracy, truth, or general do-goodiness. In fact, I hardly claim to entertain, although that is the general idea. Your concession to being amused, and your sporadic visits to my site are all that I need to continue blogging.

    Thank you again, and I eagerly await your impending or far-off return.

  6. Mike Lewis Says:

    Also, i have to imagine that there’s got to be some trademark infringement by using the Olympic rings in the logo.


  7. Hi Robbie-
    This is my favorite sticker that I’ve seen recently. The fur kills entry reminded me of it.
    Cris says hi. 🙂

    http://www.cafepress.com/beatbushgear.18704044

  8. Kari Says:

    Jen,

    That’s a GREAT bumpersticker!!!! I am sooooo tempted to buy it to replace my “Stop Repeat Offenders – Don’t Re-elect Them” bumpersticker that I got for the ’04 campaign.


Leave a Reply

